Draft Logo

Logo-draft

This is my draft logo. To begin the process of creating my logo, I started off by looking at some of the websites that were posted on the instruction page for the assignment as well as some websites that I found through Google. The links to the websites I looked at are:

http://www.companyfolders.com/blog/200-cool-personal-logo-designs-for-inspiration

http://design.tutsplus.com/articles/30-brilliant-vector-logo-designs-deconstructed–vector-338

123 Beautiful Personal Logos, Monograms and Wordmarks For Your Inspiration

Because the topic of my blog is About Me, I knew from the start that I wanted my logo to be constructed somehow out of my initials, which is what led me to the websites of personal logo designs. After looking at a couple websites, I started sketching and brainstorming on a piece of paper. One of my sketches was of an A minus the horizontal line with an S over it so that the S line connecting the curves of the S replaced the horizontal line.

As soon as I was content with my sketch, I moved onto Illustrator. I started by using the pen tool and setting the stroke to 10 pt. Then I made a line at an angle for the A shape. I went to the stroke settings on the line and set the caps to rounded. After making that line, I copied and pasted it and then right clicked, went to transform, and pressed reflect. I connected the lines at the top ends to make the A or upside down V shape and then grouped them by selecting both of them and going to object and then group.

To make the S, I made one anchor and put another one directly below it where I wanted the first curve of the S to end. Without letting go of the mouse on the second anchor, I dragged it to the right to create the first curve. To make the second curve of the S, I just clicked over to the left. I made sure that the S had only a 10 pt stroke so that it matched the upside down V. Then I dragged the S on top of the upside down V and scaled it so that the top end of it connected to the angle of the upside down V and so that the bottom end connected to the bottom left end of the V.

I selected everything and grouped them together. Then I used the live paint bucket tool to fill in the blank spaces between the S and the A. I just used whatever colors that I felt looked good together and I chose vibrant colors so that my logo wouldn’t be bland. In the left most spaces. I made them gradient with lighter shades of the colors that I chose on the left to make it look like there was a light source. Then I added a drop shadow on the whole logo so that it didn’t just look flat by going to effect, stylize, and then drop shadow.

7 thoughts on “Draft Logo

  1. saachipatel says:

    I really like your logo! It’s so simple, which makes it very powerful as a logo. I like the color selection as well as the gradient effect that you put on it. I don’t really have that many suggestions to make. One thing that you might want to consider looking into is adding some other aspects to your draft. I do really like the simplicity so maybe add some little pattern next to your initials to make it a little more aesthetically pleasing. You could add an important aspect of your life such as a simple picture or icon so that when someone initially sees your logo, they know what your blog will be about without prior knowledge. Other than that, I really like your logo and how simple yet effective it is.

    Like

  2. madisonhedding says:

    Hey girlie! I absolutely love your logo! I really like how your logo is centered along the basis of your theme of your blog-which is all about you! I love the color scheme and how simple it is, but also works around telling your story- which is honestly super cool! Some things that I would consider: I would try and use some complementary colors or some colors that mean a lot to you- since this is about YOU! I also would consider making your initials stand out a little more- either by making them bigger, bolder or using a different font to show your personality! Either way, your rough draft is a super good start and hopefully, you’ll be able to use some of the suggestions to help make your design better!

    Like

  3. madisonhedding says:

    Hey girlie! I absolutely love your logo! I really like how your logo is centered along the basis of your theme of your blog-which is all about you! I was too scared to do a logo that was all on me- so props to you! I love the color scheme and how simple it is, but also works around telling your story- which is honestly super cool! Some things that I would consider: I would try and use some complementary colors or some colors that mean a lot to you- since this is about YOU! I also would consider making your initials stand out a little more- either by making them bigger, bolder or using a different font to show your personality since this is about you! Either way, your rough draft is a super good start or hopefully, you’ll be able to use some of the suggestions to help make your design better!

    Like

  4. mikenziepennablog says:

    I think your logo idea is awesome, and really different. I think the abstraction of it is great. The colors also look great together. Somethings I would consider doing are: I would make your initials stick out a little more because when I first glanced at this I was confused as to what it was. I’m not sure how you would change up the layout of your initials in order to make it look like initials, because i’m unsure but maybe you could go in for help 🙂 You’re off to a great start!

    Like

  5. wsucom210deltagamma says:

    You did a very good job being creative with you design for your logo! I really like your overall product after reading your blog post. However before reading your blog post I wasn’t sure what your logo was representing just by looking at it. I think maybe adding your name spelled out in a cool font either curved above or before you logo could make it even better and also a lot for clear to the person viewing your design. I do really like how you added different colors into the different empty space between the lines in the logo it really made it pop and have the black lines stand out from the rest. I also think maybe making either the “S” line or the “A” line white might make it a little clearer that you are showing two different letters since they are connected and can kind of be seen as one big line. Good job!!

    Like

  6. allaboutalexiss says:

    After reading the comments on my blog post, I could not agree more with all of them. The main suggestions that I am going to take into consideration for my final draft are accentuating the letters in my logo more so that the fact that my initials are in the logo is more evident and adding more aspects to the logo that make it more relevant to myself. I really liked the suggestion of making the colors of the letters different to make it more obvious. To make my logo more relevant to myself, I am planning on changing the colors that I filled the blank spots in into my favorite colors and make them blend together. Another thing that I am going to do, but am not sure if I will incorporate into my final product, is looking up symbols with meanings that I could possibly add into a blank space and hopefully find one that I think I can really connect to.

    Like

Leave a Reply

